Glasgow Gourmet

Join me on my culinary adventure as I work my way around the best eateries in Glasgow… and perhaps even outside Glasgow.

Cail Bruich

Leave a comment

IMG_3091

I’m quite excited to be writing this post about Cail Bruich because it was the best meal I had eaten in Glasgow for a while and the food was beautifully presented, which is always a bonus for blog photos!  So let’s cut to the chase!

IMG_3043

To start, we were offered a choice of bread rolls – I went for the Parmesan roll and I think the one further away in the photo is honey and oats.  Both were fresh, warm and yummy.  I especially liked the cute little butter dish!

Amuse bouche - white beet, ham hock and truffle

Amuse bouche – white beet, ham hock and truffle

It wasn’t until after I took the photos and started digging into the teacup that I realised there was a huge hunk of delicious ham hock in there.  “Huge” in relative terms, of course – if the same sized serving of ham hock was in a regular-sized soup bowl, it would have been rather pathetic!  This complimentary amuse bouche was small but perfect.

First course - blue cheese royale, broccoli velouté

First course – blue cheese royale, broccoli velouté

Prior to our food being served, we were asked if we had any dietary requirements or foods which we disliked. I was rather surprised (but at the same time impressed) when the Hubby said, “We’re happy to give anything a try.” At the top of my head, I could list quite a few things which he does not like, including blue cheese, so when our waitress brought our first course and described it as a blue cheese royale with broccoli velouté, I was initially a bit worried. Thankfully, the flavour of the blue cheese was not very strong and when stirred into the fresh-tasting velouté, imparted a very nice creaminess. I think that the roughly-circular slices were broccoli stalks. This dish was really good but personally, I preferred the amuse bouche so I would have been happier if the two were swapped round.

Second course - scrabster cod, cauliflower couscous, curried cauliflower puree, chorizo and saffron oil

Second course – scrabster cod, cauliflower couscous, curried cauliflower puree, chorizo and saffron oil

The cod was well cooked and still moist, and the couscous was nice and delicate. The cauliflower puree was really tasty on its own, but when eaten with everything else on the plate, the curry flavour of it was too overpowering. The chorizo and saffron oil on the other hand gave the entire dish a good lift without being overwhelming.

Third course - rack of lamb, spiced lamb jus, potato gratin, artichoke puree and wild garlic

Third course – rack of lamb, spiced lamb jus, potato gratin, artichoke purée and wild garlic

When the waitress brought out our third course, she asked us who had requested the medium-cooked lamb. Now, we had no idea what we were getting so of course, we hadn’t made any specific requests as to how we liked our meat cooked. We told the waitress this and she got a little flustered, and put the plates down anyway, giving the Hubby the medium lamb, and me the rarer one. Luckily, I do like my meat done medium-rare but I was not impressed that she hadn’t first made sure that I was happy with it. She may have realised afterwards though, and asked us about 5 minutes later if our food was OK. The lamb was beautiful – tender and well-seasoned, and the sweet artichoke purée was a really nice accompaniment.  And I must not forget to mention that on that plate was the most delicious potato gratin I have ever tasted – sometimes I find the potato undercooked, and the sauce greasy, but Cail Bruich’s was fantastic.

Fourth course - Valrhona manjari chocolate pave, blackberry sorbet, chocolate and pistachio soil

Fourth course – Valrhona manjari chocolate pave, blackberry sorbet, chocolate and pistachio soil

The bittersweet, rich smooth chocolate pave was balanced perfectly with the sharp, fruity sorbet, and the soil added a nice crunchy texture.  A gorgeous, decadent dessert and a beautiful end to the meal.

The 4-course taster menu with accompanying wine would have normally cost £110 for two people but the voucher we had only cost £49!  What a deal!  I would tell you more about the vino, but I really don’t have a clue about wine so all I can say is that I liked it!  I’m normally not a big fan of wine, but I found the ones we were given very palatable.  Apologies to those of you who are wine connoisseurs for this useless information!  Try to focus on the food!

Other than the minor incident with the main course, the service was fantastic.  The staff were friendly and explained each dish as they were brought out to us.  The restaurant had a seating capacity of no more than 40 but it was only about half-full when the Hubby and I were there on a Sunday from 7pm.  I really hope that this quiet dinner period was just a one-off and that Cail Bruich doesn’t normally suffer from a lack of business.  I would be very disappointed to see them forced to close down.  Their prices aren’t exactly cheap (although they do offer a very competitively-priced market menu) but the food really is top-class and we will definitely be back.  If I had to name three of my favourite restaurants in Glasgow, Cail Bruich would make the list.

CAIL BRUICH 725, Great Western Rd, Glasgow, Lanarkshire G12 8QX 0141 334 6265 http://www.cailbruich.co.uk/  Opening hours: Mon - Closed Tue-Sat: 12:30-3:00pm (last orders); 5:30-10pm (last orders) Sun: 12:30-3:00pm (last orders); 5:30-8pm (last orders)

CAIL BRUICH
725, Great Western Rd,
Glasgow,
Lanarkshire
G12 8QX
0141 334 6265
http://www.cailbruich.co.uk/
Opening hours:
Mon – Closed
Tue-Sat: 12:30-3:00pm (last orders); 5:30-10pm (last orders)
Sun: 12:30-3:00pm (last orders); 5:30-8pm (last orders)

Cail Bruich West on Urbanspoon

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.